Deprecated: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in /home/a8n2i1g0/public_html/modules/MenuManager/MenuManager.module.php on line 111

Welcome to Anil Tyagi’s Web Page


Professor Anil K. Tyagi
Former Vice Chancellor
Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University
New Delhi-110078

Former Professor and Head Department of Biochemistry University of Delhi South Campus
Adjunct Professor Translational Health Science & Technology Inst., Gurgaon

View Complete Profile

Field of specialization : Biochemistry / Biotechnology / Molecular Biology / Tuberculosis Research with special emphasis on vaccine development and drug discovery

A leading scientist in the area of biotechnology, Professor Anil K. Tyagi has pursued his research with emphasis towards the control and amelioration of tuberculosis, the disease that claims more than 30,000 human lives every week. For the last more than 15 years, Professor Tyagi’s group has focused on two broad areas, (i) development of new vaccines against tuberculosis and (ii) Drug discovery programme for new potential drugs against tuberculosis. The Tuberculosis Vaccine Clinical Trial Expert Group of the Department of Biotechnology, Government of India, has recommended three new vaccine regimens developed by Dr. Tyagi’s group for human clinical trials. Currently, pre-clinical work on these candidate vaccines is in progress so that eventually the human clinical trials can be initiated. In a multicentric project with Dr. Tyagi’s laboratory being the nodal component, the genome of Mycobacterium indicus pranii known for its immunomodulatory properties against several diseases has been completely sequenced at the University of Delhi South Campus to understand its unique properties. This is the first new bacterial genome to be completely sequenced and annotated in India.

For his scientific contributions, he has been awarded Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award, the most prestigious scientific award of India, Ranbaxy Research Award for medical sciences by Ranbaxy Science Foundation, P.S. Sarma Memorial Award by Society of Biological Chemists (India), Nitya Anand Endowment Lecture Award by Indian National Science Academy, India, Vigyan Gaurav Samman Award by UP Government, C.R. Krishnamurthy Memorial Oration Award by CDRI, Lucknow, Prof. S.H. Zaidi Oration Award by ITRC, Lucknow, Kona Sampath Kumar award by University of Delhi. He has been Vice President of the Society of Biological Chemists, India (2004-06). He is a Fellow of National Academy of Sciences and Indian Academy of Sciences, Indian National Science Academy, India and a National J.C. Bose Fellow.

Professor Tyagi has served as a member of Academic Council of University of Delhi (1990-1993, 1996-1999 and 2008-2011); Head, Department of Biochemistry (1990-1993, 1996-1999 and 2008-2011); Co-ordinator, UGC-SAP from 2009 onwards; Member, Board of Research Studies, FIAS, University of Delhi (1986-2006, 2008-2012); Member, APEX Committee, Vaccine Grand Challenge Programme, Department of Biotechnology, GOI; Member, Governing Body V.P. Chest Institute, Lady Harding Medical College, University College of Medical Sciences and a number of other University colleges; Expert Consultant to the Tuberculosis Research Programme (TBRU) of NIH, USA; Member, Scientific Advisory Committee for National Centre for Cell Sciences, Pune, National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi, National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad, Institute of Pathology, New Delhi, Centre for DNA Finger Printing and Diagnostics, Hyderabad and Tuberculosis Research Centre, Chennai; Member, Technical Advisory Committee, National Research Development Corporation (NRDC), India; Member, Research Council, Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi; Member, Research Council of HRDG, CSIR, India; Member, International Programme Approval Committee (IPAC), Department of Science and Technology; Member, Expert Committee, University Grants Commission (UGC), India for evaluation of major research projects; Member, Sectional Committees of Indian National Science Academy and Indian Academy of Sciences, Member, Task Force for DST on International Collaborations and Member on several national task forces of the Department of Biotechnology, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research and Indian Council of Medical Research in the areas of basic sciences, infectious diseases, vaccine development and human health. Professor Tyagi has been in the editorial board of several journals and currently he is serving as Member of Editorial Board for Indian Journal of Medical Research and academic editor for PLoS ONE.

Professor Tyagi holds an M.Sc. degree in Biochemistry from the University of Allahabad and a Ph.D. degree in Medical Biochemistry from the University of Delhi. He has been a passionate teacher in addition to being the Professor of Biochemistry, the Incharge, Distributed Information Sub-Centre, Chairman, Advisory Committee, WUS Health Centre, University of Delhi South Campus and Co-ordinator of UGC-SAP Programme at the Department of Biochemistry, University of Delhi South Campus.



Last Updated Wednesday, 27 September 2023 15:24


Category: General
Posted by: admin
I welcome you to my web world for a more productive........